SaskPower board members donate $600K to Sask. Party since 2007

Pattern of insiders and donors rewarded with Saskatchewan public boards seats 

REGINA - Today, the Official Opposition released new numbers showing that, since 2007, SaskPower board members have contributed at least $596,472 in individual and corporate donations to the Sask. Party. 

“The Board oversees billion-dollar decisions. They’re supposed to provide oversight and keep the government accountable, not flush with cash,” said SaskPower Critic Aleana Young. “This is about the price of admission. Board members have donated over half a million to the Sask. Party, while average families are falling further and further behind. This fall, it’s time for change.”

The Sask. Party formed government in 2007. Since then, government-appointed SaskPower board members have donated at least $596,472 to the Sask. Party. 

These donations were either made as individuals or by corporations where the board members held senior positions.

This new analysis follows news that Richard “Porky” Porter – described by Scott Moe as a “true friend” – was appointed to multiple boards as Mr. Moe climbed the Sask. Party government’s ranks.

Also under Moe’s leadership:


Latest posts

Moe gov’t gives northern tire recycling contract, monopoly to Newport Beach company

Opposition calls for release of market study at the heart of tire recycling controversy

REGINA - Today, Official Opposition Ethics Critic Meara Conway and Environment Critic Jared Clarke put the Sask. Party government on blast for running a local Saskatchewan business out of the tire recycling market and giving a monopoly to a California-based company.

Conway seeks answers on Harrison gun allegations

REGINA - Today, Official Opposition Ethics and Democracy Critic Meara Conway wrote to the Sergeant-at-Arms, Chief Firearms Officer, and the Legislative District Security Unit seeking answers to the unanswered questions surrounding the Speaker’s allegation that Premier Scott Moe’s House Leader brought a gun into the Legislative Building.

Share this page